Review: A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

Review
This book may be unsuitable for people under 17 years of age due to its use of sexual content, drug and alcohol use, and/or violence.
Review: A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas
A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas
(Amazon|Book Depository|Goodreads)

Rating:
Pages: 416
Source: Purchased
Series: A Court of Thorns and Roses #1
Published by: Bloomsbury Childrens
Pubilcation Date: May 5th 2015
Genres: Action & Adventure, Faeries & Elves, Fairy Tales & Folklore, Fantasy, New Adult, Retellings, Romance

A thrilling, seductive new series from New York Times bestselling author Sarah J. Maas, blending Beauty and the Beast with faerie lore.

When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she's been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow grows over the faerie lands, and Feyre must find a way to stop it... or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever.

Perfect for fans of Kristin Cashore and George R. R. Martin, this first book in a sexy and action-packed new series is impossible to put down!

What happens when your favourite YA author writes a NA novel, let alone creates a brand new NA series? Mind-boggling happiness and pinch-me-to-wake-up moments, thats what! I know I’m so late to the party with this review; I actually read this in the summer but was having some technical issues with my blog so I never got the chance to review it – oh well, better late than never! And I friggin’ loved it, clearly:

ACOTAR

“Because all the monsters have been let out of their cages tonight, no matter what court they belong to. So I may roam wherever I wish until the dawn.”

I knew before going into this book that it would be a [magnificent] retelling of the Beauty and the Beast fairytale, but I honestly could not even remember what happened in Beauty and the Beast, or when I last saw it. I mean, I can remember some of it. Mostly the singing teacups and ornaments, though.

BATB

Teacups and ornaments aside, this book was truly a beautiful retelling. The story is simply fantastic, and Sarah J Maas puts her own unique spin on it; romance, magic, danger, betrayal, faeries – what more could I ask for? Although the first half of the book is much slower paced than the second half, I did not mind at all. I can never seem to get enough of Sarah J Maas’ writing.

“You look . . . better than before.”
Was that a compliment? I could have sworn Lucien gave Tamlin an encouraging nod.
“And you hair is . . . clean.”

The story is told in Feyre’s perspective, and although she definitely was not Celaena/Aelin, there were some slight similarities. I’m not complaining though, I friggin’ love both of those characters. Anyways, Feyre, who is human, has committed a crime and is taken to the Spring Fae Court, where she is forced to live with Tamlin and Lucien (I love that name so much). They are both Spring Fae. Don’t worry, there’s no love triangle between them.

ACOTARMAP

Click to enlarge

There are seven fae courts, but 4 (Spring, Summer, Autumn, Winter) are separated from the other 3 (Night, Day, Dawn) by a mountain. It’s probably easier for you to understand if you look at the map — I wanna talk about the more juicy stuff now!

“Do you ever stop being so serious and dull?”
“Do you ever stop being such a prick?” I snapped back.
Dead—really, truly, I should have been dead for that.
But Lucien grinned at me. “Much better.”

The relationship between Feyre and Tamlin was one that grows and takes some time, thank goodness, because I absolutely detest insta-love. Lucien is hilarious, the friendship and bond that he has with Tamlin was great. I don’t remember all the little details anymore because it’s been a couple of months since I read the book, so I’m going to jump to something we should all be talking about: RHYSAND. He just came in and I was like WOAH, Fae of the Night Court, indeed. This turned the book from like into love for me.

dontlookjudgy

Rye-sand? Rees-sand? The back of the book has a list of how the names are pronounced, but once I get something into my head it’s stuck. So to me he’s Rye-sand. I know, most of you all want to shoot him, because yes, he is evil, but do I care? NOoOoOo. Do I prefer him to Tamlin? Yes, so much more. I don’t know what it is, and I don’t know if this will turn out to be a love triangle, but I sincerely hope so. And I’m team Rhysand. I’m putting some other thoughts in a spoiler so DO NOT open if you haven’t read this book yet: View Spoiler »

“Rhysand stared at me for long enough that I faced him.
“Be glad of your human heart, Feyre. Pity those who don’t feel anything at all.”

I can’t wait to see what is going to happen in the rest of this seres. All in all, ACOTAR is fantastic and if you haven’t picked up a copy yet you definitely should!

Have you read ACOTAR?
What do you think? Anybody on the same ship as me?

Rating Report
Plot
Characters
Writing
Pacing
Romance
Overall: 4.7 / 5

About Sarah J. Maas

Sarah J. Maas is the author of the New York Times, USA Today, and internationally bestselling Throne of Glass series–Throne of Glass, Crown of Midnight, Heir of Fire, Queen of Shadows, and the series’ prequel, The Assassin’s Blade–as well as the New York Times and USA Today bestselling A Court of Thorns and Roses. She wrote the first incarnation of the Throne of Glass series when she was just sixteen, and it has now sold in twenty-three languages. A Court of Mist and Fury, the second book in the A Court of Thorns and Roses series, will release on May 3rd, 2016.

A New York native, Sarah currently lives in Pennsylvania with her husband and dog. She graduated Magna Cum Laude from Hamilton College in 2008 with a degree in Creative Writing and a minor in Religious Studies.

Previous Story
Next Story

14 Comments

  • Reply
    Zoe @ Stories on Stage
    October 13, 2015 at 10:26 pm

    I didn’t quite like this as much as you did, but I still really, really liked it, so I’m glad you did too! The romance and the plot were just fantastic, and I can’t wait to see what happens next. 🙂 Thanks for sharing your thoughts and, as always, fabulous review! ♥

    • Reply
      Anissa
      October 16, 2015 at 7:07 pm

      Thank you! 😀 Yeah, I can’t wait to see what happens next either! x

  • Reply
    Sarah @ One Curvy Blogger
    October 14, 2015 at 12:38 am

    I think basically all everyone remembers from Beauty and the Beast are the singing tea cups. Oh and the candles, don’t forget those! I love how much you loooved A Court of Thorns and Roses 😀 I need to read it ASAP but I have been putting it off until I actually complete a series I start. Sigh.

    • Reply
      Anissa
      October 16, 2015 at 7:12 pm

      Haha too true! It was an awesome book! I’m pretty sure you’re going to love it! 😀 I’m looking forward to reading your review when you get the chance to read it.

  • Reply
    Alise
    October 14, 2015 at 5:55 pm

    I am LOVING your blog design right now! It looks fantastic. Your excitement is contagious and the quotes you included are perfection, it makes me want to re-read this one right now! I also really liked this one (and Rhysand *evil laughter*) and would be lying if I said my theory about him in the ending wasn’t the same. That would be a twist to die for. Great review!

    • Reply
      Anissa
      October 16, 2015 at 7:15 pm

      YAY hahaha thank you so much! I know, when was finding the quotes it made me remember all the things I’d forgotten already. YES RHYSAND *cackles* that twist would be amazing. Looking back at the his quotes just reminded me of why I prefer him so much, I think I only really started loving the book after he entered. Did you see the title release for book 2 yet?! :O I’M SO EXCITED!

  • Reply
    Alexandra A
    November 1, 2015 at 10:50 am

    Great review!!! Loveeeee this book! 🙂

    • Reply
      Anissa
      November 8, 2015 at 5:26 pm

      Thank you! Yessss, love this book! 😀

  • Reply
    Olivia Roach
    November 3, 2015 at 4:41 am

    I am so glad to hear about how much you loved this book! I have had my eye on it for a while, especially as I know how popular her Throne of Glass series is – although those are some books I have yet to read as well. I love the story of Beauty and the Beast and actually recently rewatched it as well! So excited!

    • Reply
      Anissa
      November 8, 2015 at 5:32 pm

      Oh my gosh, you haven’t read Throne of Glass?! Girl, you must! 😀 I love everything she’s written. This was the first fairytale retelling I’ve read in a long, long time, and I love Beauty and the Beast. I’m looking forward to reading what you think once you get a chance to read these! 😀

  • Reply
    Debbie
    December 29, 2015 at 4:54 am

    Great review and glad you immensely enjoyed the book! It sounds pretty great from what I can tell although the part bout the possible love triangle has me wary…

    • Reply
      Anissa
      January 5, 2016 at 11:13 am

      Thank you! 😀 Haha, the possible love triangle is one of my favourite things (guilty pleasure) – I don’t know if it will come in to action… But I’m secretly hoping hehe *evil laughter*

  • Reply
    Alecia
    December 30, 2015 at 4:57 am

    I’ve heard some mixed opinions on this one but I’m glad you liked it. Not sure if I should give it a go or not yet..

    • Reply
      Anissa
      January 5, 2016 at 11:15 am

      I really loved it, so I’d say it’s definitely worth a shot! 🙂

    Leave a Reply

    %d bloggers like this: